Iran Celebrate their Fourth WAFF Title

Wednesday 23/09/2020
Iran celebrated their fourth WAFF (West Asian Football Federation) title on Friday, 15 august 2008 with a 2-1 win over Jordan in the final.

A 25th minute penalty kick from Hadi Aghlili and Kianoosh Rahmati’s 85th minute goal helped Iran retain the title in front of 10,000 fans at the Azadi Stadium in the capital of iran. Jordan’s only goal was scored by Amir Deeb in the 80th minute.

Jordan were a man short for the last 15 minutes of the match after Mohammad Al-kasim, who had conceded the earlier penalty, was sent off for his second yellow after a rash tackle on Jalal Rafakhayi in the 75th minute.
AFC President Mohammad Bin Hammam was the special guest of honor at the awards ceremony and presented the trophy to Hadi Aghili, the Iranian skipper.

Iranian coach Ali Daei said he had achieved his aim at this tournament.
"It was a very difficult game against Jordan,” said the Iranian legend.

"We had a good performance and possessed the ball more than them. My goal in this tournament was to give an opportunity to the young players and I congratulate them on their attitude.”

Jordanian coach Nelo Vingada said: "I congratulate the Iranians for this victory and I am pleased that we lost the game by only one goal. It’s difficult to play Iran in a final especially with one man short. But my players put up a very good performance.”

Iran won the trophy in 2000, 2004 and 2007 and this is the second time they are celebrating the title at home.